List of Top 10 First Class king in Nigeria.

List of Top 10 First Class king in Nigeria.

In Nigeria, before Independence, the Monarchy system was used in different parts of the country. After Independence, Nigeria practices the Democratic system. It is believed that Kings are chosen ones. In some cultures, Kings are chosen by gods or historical lineage, etc. Nigeria traditional rulers do not hold formal political powers (except leaving one for the other), they are well respected in the society and are quite influential. We take a look at the Top 10 First Class king in Nigeria.

List of Top 10 First Class king in Nigeria.

Top 10 First Class king in Nigeria.

Below is the list of Top 10 First Class king in Nigeria.


“Amir-ul-Momineen” is the official title of the Sultan of Sokoto which means the leader of Muslims in Nigeria. After British rule, the post has become increasingly ceremonial but it still carries a lot of weight with Fulani, Hausa from northern Nigeria and some Muslim faithful. The current 20th Sultan of Sokoto is Sultan Muhammadu Sa’ad Abubakar IV. He is also the co-chairman of the Nigerian Council of Traditional Rulers. He is also president-general of the Nigerian National Supreme Council for Islamic Affairs (NSCIA). He took over the throne after the death of his brother, Sultan Muhammadu Maccido who lost his life in the unfortunate ADC Airlines Flight 53 crash.


Kano Emirate was formed in 1805 during the Fulani Jihad when the old Hausa Sultanate of Kano became subject to the Sokoto Caliphate. Kano Emirate is headed by the Emir of Kano. The current Emir of Kano is His Royal Highness Mallam Muhammad Sanusi II, he was a successful banker and the former Governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria. He was listed by TIME magazine among the list of most influential people of 2011. He succeeded Dr. Ado Abdullahi Bayero who ascended the throne in 1963 and ruled till his death on June 6, 2014.


Alaafin of Oyo is one of the most powerful and influential monarchical titles to be attained in the Southwest part of Nigeria. The current Alaafin of Oyo is His Royal Highness Lamidi Olayiwola Adeyemi III who ascended the throne in 1970 succeeding Alaafin Gbadegesin Ladigbolu II. Alaafin of Oyo was formerly the Permanent Chairman of the Council of Obas and Chiefs in Oyo State until 2011, Which Adebayo Alao-Akala(former governor of Oyo State) reversed. Now, the position of chairman is now rotated between the Alaafin and his two rivals, the Olubadan of Ibadanland and the Soun of Ogbomoso.


The Ọọ̀ni of Ilé-Ifẹ̀ is a powerful traditional ruler of Ile-Ife in the southwest of Nigeria. Ile-Ife is an ancient city in the southwest and has more historical background in Yorubaland. The current Ọọ̀ni of ife is Ọọ̀ni Okunade Adele Sijuwade from 6 December 1980. He was born in the house of Ogburu on the 1st of January 1930. He often plays a major role in determining the next governor of Osun state.


The Oba of Benin also known as Omo N’Oba, is also an influential traditional ruler of the historic Eweka dynasty of the Benin Kingdom and of the Edo people. Omo N’Oba N’Edo Uku Akpolokpolo Erediauwa is the 38th Oba of Benin, head of the traditional state of Benin and also ‘Oba of Benin Kingdom’ in 1979. 


Olubadan is the royal title of the king of Ibadan land which is appointed from the two ruling lines to the throne, Egbe Agba (civil) and Balogun (military) on rotational basis following the death of a monarch. It takes decades to groom an Olubadan for the mantle through stages of chieftaincy promotion, thus meaning that just about any male born title-holder of the metropolitan center is a potential king.The current Olubadan is Oba Samuel Odulana, Odugade with the 11 high chiefs that formed the Olubadan-in- council, apart from the Seriki and Iyalode, are recognized as the traditional head of each of the 11 LGs in Ibadanland. They are appointed as presidents of customary courts, who are expected to adjudicate on the matrimonial, land, boundary and other communal disputes.


Lagos being the commercial center of Nigeria, Oba lagos, also known as the Eleko of Eko has being a prominent king in soughting for counsel and sponsorship by politicians. The King of Lagos is the traditional and ceremonial head of Lagos. His Royal Highness Oba Rilwan Babatunde Osuolale Aremu Akiolu I is the Oba of lagos from 2003.


Agbor is an Igbo town in Delta state also known as Ominije. Agbor was affiliated with the Benin Empire before Benin was conquered by the British. His Highness Benjamin Ikenchuku Keagborekuzi currrently owns the title of “Dein of Agbor”. According to the Guinness Book of Records, he the youngest monarch ever to ascend a royal throne in 1981. After his coronation, he left the shores of Nigeria to pursue his academics and returned to Agbor in 2001. He was appointed the 4th Chancellor of the University of Ilorin by former president Olusegun Obasanjo in 2006 making him the youngest vice-chancellor of a federal university.


The Olu of Warri is the head of the Itsekiri people in Delta state and His higness Godwin Toju Emiko on the 2nd of May 1987 was headed Olu of Warri. He was a lawyer by profession and the second university graduate to ascend the great throne of Warri Kingdom. He was made a member of the Warri Traditional Council since 1983 and was also a Member of Warri Local Government Council.


Obi of Onitsha is the traditional leader of Onitsha in Anambra state and the current Obi of Onitsha is His royal highness Igwe Nnayelugo Alfred Nnaemeka Achebe was born on 14 May 1941, and had his coronation on the 3rd of June 2002.

Also, among the First-class king in Nigeria are Obong of Calabar, Tor Tiv, Attah of Igala, Etsu Nupe, Shehu of Borno, etc.

List of Top 10 First Class king in Nigeria.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *