List of Seaports in Nigeria.

List of Seaports in Nigeria

Seaport in Nigeria is regulated by Nigeria Port Authority (NPA) which is a Federal Government agency that governs and operates the seaport in Nigeria.  It was founded in 1954  following the implementation of the Ports Act of 1954 mainly to Regulate the ports industry of Nigerian.

A Seaport is known to be a maritime commercial facility that may comprise one or more wharves where ship may dock to load and also discharge passengers and cargo.

Seaport is located on a sea coast or estuary with access from the sea via a river or canal. Due to the sea flow, Asia has the greatest growth in port development.

Nigeria Port Authority (NPA) head office is located in Marina, Lagos State. Nigeria Port Authority (NPA) carries out in affiliation with the Ministry of Transport, the Nigerian Shippers Council and other agencies.

According to Nigeria Port Authority (NPA), the major Ports are in Lagos which are Lagos Port Complex and Tin Can Island Port Complex. The other ports are Calabar Port Complex in Cross River State, Delta Ports in Warri, Delta State and the Rivers Port Complex and Onne Port Complex both in Rivers State.

Below is the list of seaport in Nigeria arranged Alphabetically

  1. Calabar Port is Located in the city of Calabar, Cross River State in the southeast corner of Nigeria, Calabar is an ancient city known to be home of the Eastern Naval Command of the Nigerian Navy. Port facilities are located 55 nautical miles up the Calabar River.
  2. Delta Port: Delta Port is located in the petroleum and natural gas producing Niger River Delta region of the country. Delta Port is in Delta State includes other minin ports of Warri, Burutu, Sapele and petroleum terminals at Escravos and Forcados.


  1. Lagos Port Complex: Lagos Port Complex is located in Apapa, Lagos State. It is the economic door to the nation. Mainly serves Lagos and western Nigeria since it is the biggest seaport in Nigeria. It’s together with the Tin Can Island Port in Lagos state
  1. Onne Port: Onne is located in Rivers State on Ogu Creek near the Bonny River, 19 km from Port Harcourt. The Onne port is situated in 3 Local Government Areas of Rivers State, Eleme LGA, Ogu-Bolo LGA and Bonny LGA. The Onne port consists of two major facilities, the Federal Ocean Terminal and the Federal Lighter Terminal. Due to the nature of the region, Onne Port has been designated as an Oil and Gas Free Zone by the government of Nigeria making over 100 companies have licenses to work at Onne Port.
  2. Rivers Port/Port Harcourt: The Rivers Port Complex in coastal Rivers State situated in the Gulf of Guinea. It started from a beginning; evolving from one berth for coal export; to four berths to handle a cargo mix of import/export merchandise. According to NPA, the Port with a quay length of 1,259 is capable of accommodating eight modern sea-going vessels loading and discharging at the same time. It is equipped with 16 tanks of 3,048 ton capacity of bulk oil installation, has a conveyor belt and a pier holding the structure, while there are also seven stacking areas of 27,407.15 square meters size and four (4) Arcon sheds with storage capacity 12,486.15 square meters.
  1. Tin Can Island Port Tin Can Island Port  is located in North West of Lagos Port Complex and has bearing of Latitude 62*N Longitude 30* 23E. Its started operation in 1977 when the country experienced increase in the economic activities during the oil boom coupled with the post-civil war reconstruction. This led to high volume of import and export that resulted to serious Port congestion, the government due to the situation decongest the Port; by constructing a new Port on Tin Can Island with the capacity of handling 10-16 vessels at a time with the main port complex occupying a total area of 73 hectres.

It important to know that the Lagos Port Complex is the biggest seaport in Nigeria.

Exit mobile version